Hotels and hygiene/BnB’s and bacteria

I run a little BnB in the guesthouse behind my home—my tiny hotel as my grandson calls it. I am always surprised at how many guests sleep either on top of the comforter or under the comforter but on top of the sheets. What is the reasoning in that?

In any reputable hotel or BnB, the bed sheets are changed after every guest. The sheets are the cleanest part of the bed. The comforter, duvet, or bedspread is not washed as often. And the top covering is exposed to everything in the room. People sit on the bed with the bedspread on. They set their luggage on the bed, they eat, drink and apply make up on the bed. I know because I have cleaned off every one of those things and more from the bedspread.

Nevertheless, unless it is actually soiled, I do not wash the comforter/duvet in my little hotel as often as I wash the sheets. And I guarantee that the hotel staff do not wash bedspreads nearly as often as they wash the sheets. Even when guests have obviously not slept between the sheets, I wash the sheets. The sheets are always the cleanest part of the bed. Sleep between the sheets.

My granddaughter and I shared a room in a BnB not long ago and she was reluctant to sleep in the bed. When I asked her why she replied that other people had slept in the sheets. Of course they had. But they had also eaten from the dishes in the cupboards, used the glasses and silverware, sat on the chairs and couches. The sheets were the least of her problem.

This information did not reassure her. Now she wondered if it was safe to eat off the dishes. And maybe with good reason. If a guest uses a glass, rinses it, and returns it to the cupboard, chances are it won’t be washed with hot soapy water. The same goes for silverware and plates. A germaphobe doesn’t stand a chance in a hotel room!

And, that’s not all. It is likely the cleaners use the same rag and spray to clean the kitchen counter as they use to clean the toilet. You just have to hope they clean the counter first. Disgusting? Yes, but for some reason most folks think more about the sheets than the counter tops.

What to do? If you’re worried about germs (and who isn’t in this post COVID world?) take a little cleaner with you. Spray the counters before you get settled. (They’re probably fine, but just in case.) If you’re worried about germs, wash the glasses and silverware before you use them and leave them out for the cleaners when you leave. They might wash them with hot soapy water or even sanitize them with a dishwasher.

And just to be extra safe, sleep between the sheets!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.